Liseberg Applause Award

With the IAAPA Attractions Expo going on in Orlando, Florida this week, here is an article about one of the top awards given in the industry – the Liseberg Applause Award. 

Since 1980, an amusement park in Gothenburg, Sweden, Liseberg, has given a prestigious award known as the Applause Award. This award is given to the park which “honors a park whose management, operations and creative accomplishments have inspired the industry with foresight, originality and sound business development.”

This award has typically been announced on the first day of the annual IAAPA Attractions Expo, held in Orlando, Florida. It has been awarded every two years. Magic Kingdom naturally won the initial award in 1980. Epcot followed that up in 1986. Hersheypark won the Applause Award in 2000. It was most recently rewarded to Busch Gardens Tampa on November 15, 2016.

List of Applause Award winners

Year Park
1980 Magic Kingdom
1982 Opryland USA
1986 Epcot
1988 Knott’s Berry Farm
1990 Europa Park
1992 Efteling
1994 Universal Studios Florida
1996 Cedar Point
1998 Silver Dollar City
2000 Hersheypark
2002 Busch Gardens Williamsburg
2004 Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari
2006 Islands of Adventure
2008 Xetulul Theme Park
2010 Dollywood
2012 Ocean Park Hong Kong
2014 Puy du Fou
2016 Busch Gardens Tampa

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: